Socializin’ at the pub–er– bench…

Saturday, May 28

Well, it’s Luigi, again… and it’s a beautiful day outside–apart from the random

Watching all the dogs go by

clouds floating overhead–but, so far, no rain. Grandma and I got up and went  for a walk–and did the circle around the apartment backwards for a   change.

Everyone with a dog must have had the same thing in mind after the terribly hard rain yesterday–get out while the  sun is shining.  And, they were out.  First we ran into Carrie–the 11 yr. old Doxie–she’s the cutest red-head–just a little gray in the muzzle–but hey, we are all getting older, eh?  She and her mom were going clockwise–and we were going counter-clockwise.

Then, up around the corner, we ran into Tucker and his mom.  Now Tucker, I think is about 10–seems to be the going age around here. LOL  He’s the silky, blue-gray miniature Yorkie,.  Grandma just loves him and coos and goos at him. Then, some man with a Scandinavian accent, from Idaho (? go figure) came by while we were talking to Tucker– and he had a 3 and a half year old Shitsu named– Speedy.  Now he was really good looking– black and white–but, he didn’t look brushed at all.

The man was squatting down petting everyone when Grandma noticed he was slipping each dog a little piece of some soft, brown treat–looked like my morning Omega 3 to me.       “Oh, excuse me,” Grandma said, “Luigi may not have a treat.”      WHAT!  Is she nuts?  It smelled great!  It seems everyone around here hauls treats around in their pockets for all the dog-pets.   She just doesn’t know who all these people are and especially, what’s in that treat…so  she started to explain that I’m on some special diet, the man says,  “Oh, to lose weight!”   Hey, take a look at me– I don’t look so bad–just 3 or 4 lbs. over my ideal weight.

Well, Grandma quickly took offense for me and promptly let him know that my ‘vet has me on a specialized diet for allergies and arthritis’.  Sounded good to me.  The man stood up and said, ‘Oh’, and then turned his back on us and began talking to the other women.  So, we said good bye to them…(cuz Carrie and her mom had arrived now also–remember we are walking in a circle–lol)  I don’t think I better tell you what Grandma was a mumbling as we walked off–but I know she felt that man had insulted me…. She stuck up for me so fast let me tell you.

So when we got back and since I was in good with Grandma, now,  I thot that since  she  was asleep watching  Tora, Tora, Tora–with Rat-cat sitting by her on the couch, I could ever so quietly sneak over to the dregs in the cat food dish.  No such luck– I mean 3 inches before I had that delicious Paul Newman snack in my mouth, I hear her say, “DON’T EVEN let your nose touch that bowl!!!”  Man, I stopped short, looked to my right, and there she was–in full repose with her eagle eyes watching me  across the kitchen.   So, I guess there must be a philosophical difference between being on my side and not letting me get away with crap, eh?  Oh, yes, Grandma says, kids may read this–use  “get away with stuff.”..  Roger and Out.

Up front--looking N E.

Well, here’s a photo of the front of the apts.  You know, they are like living on a   ship–so big and all sorts of nice things inside.   So, when we walk clear around the place a couple of times, I think we are walking about 2/3rds of a mile– that will get us in shape for sure.

Grandma says we got an email from Mom today, and she said they are in Germany, now–had a good flight. That the city they have moved to is Beautiful.  This doesn’t sound like they are just on vacation, does it.  And, what’s a flight? Gosh, there are so many mysteries I just don’t understand.

You know,  this is the weekend we honor our Veterans— Grandma said that a lot of men in our family are vets–so they must be something important and nice—it’s called, Memorial Weekend.  I think we are supposed to B-B-Q.        Have a great day.  Woof-Woof,  Luigi

                                                                                                 
Leave a Reply

